Contemporary history of Europe

Audiovisual work - Biographical documentary "PIERRE WERNER AND EUROPE" (lenght 00:24:26)

Biographical Documentary "PIERRE WERNER AND EUROPE". Based on the version produced in 2013 to mark the centenary of Pierre Werner’s birth, the enhanced biographical documentary ‘Pierre Werner, a European vocation’ presented in 2016 is primarily composed of video accounts by major players in the European integration process recorded by the CVCE in connection with its ‘Pierre Werner and Europe’ research project, as well as images and photos from the Pierre Werner family archives, to which the CVCE has been granted exclusive access. The film features contributions from the following figures (in alphabetical order): Michel Camdessus, Honorary Governor of the Banque de France, Managing Director of the IMF (1987–2000); Étienne Davignon, Member of the European Commission (1977–1981) and Vice-President of the European Commission (1981–1985); Mark Eyskens, Belgian Finance Minister (1980–1981) and Prime Minister (1981); Luc Frieden, Luxembourg Finance Minister (2009–2013); Albert Hansen, Secretary-General of the Luxembourg Government (1979–1998); Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission since 2014, Prime Minister of Luxembourg (1995–2013), first permanent President of the Eurogroup (2005–2013); Helmut Kohl, Chancellor of the FRG (1982–1998); Jacques de Larosière, Assistant Director (1967–1974) then Director of the French Treasury (1974–1978), Managing Director of the IMF (1978–1987); Wilfried Martens (1936–2013), Prime Minister of Belgium (1979–1981/1981–1992); Philippe Maystadt, Belgian Finance Minister (1988–1998), President of the European Investment Bank (2000–2011); Yves Mersch, Member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank (since 2012), President of the Banque centrale du Luxembourg (1998–2012); Guy de Muyser, Marshal of the Grand Ducal Court (1971–1981); Charles-Ferdinand Nothomb, President of the Belgian Chamber of Representatives (1979–1980; 1988–1995), Honorary President of the Pierre Werner European Circle; Viviane Reding, Member of the European Commission (1999–2010), Vice-President of the European Commission with responsibility for Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship (2010–2014), Member of the European Parliament (since 2014); Lex Roth, Director of the Information and Press Service of the Luxembourg Government (1988–1993); Charles Ruppert, Chairman of the Luxembourg Bankers’ Association (1992–1995), Chairman of the Pierre Werner Foundation; Jacques Santer, Prime Minister of Luxembourg (1984–1995), President of the European Commission (1995–1999); Gaston Thorn (1928–2007), Prime Minister of Luxembourg (1974–1979), President of the European Commission (1981–1985); Bernard Snoy et d’Oppuers, International President of the European League for Economic Cooperation, President of Robert Triffin International; Hans Tietmeyer, President of the Deutsche Bundesbank (1993–1999), Member of the Werner Committee (1970); Henri Werner, son of Pierre Werner; Marie-Anne Werner, daughter of Pierre Werner.

Show this publication on our institutional repository (